Sunday, March 19, 2017

Carly Simon - Boys In The Trees (1978)

“Boys In The Trees" by Carly Simon (1978)

“Boys In The Trees” was one of Carly Simon’s most successful studio albums in her entire career. The album reached #10 in the US and #4 in Canada as well as #27 in Australia. “Boys In The Trees” signified a change in musical style for Carly capitalizing on a stylishly serene approach.

After her huge success with the James Bond theme “Nobody Does It Better,” Carly went into the studio with producer Arif Mardin to record “Boys In The Tree.” During this time period Mardin’s productions were known to incorporate bits of R&B and disco into other genres such as pop and jazz. In 1978 Mardin also produced Chaka Khan’s album “Chaka” which includes the classic “I’m Every Woman”

 Three singles were released from “Boys In the Tree” including the international hit “You Belong To Me,” written by Doobie Brothers leader Michael McDonald and Carly Simon. The song was originally recorded by the Doobie Brothers in 1977 and featured on their album “Livin’ On The Faultline.” This was not the first Doobie Brothers song Carly recorded, she also recorded “It Keeps Me Runnin’” a song she featured on her 1976 album “Another Passenger.” Carly took “You Belong To Me” to #6 in the US and #5 in Canada. The second single was a cover of the Everly Brothers classic “Devoted To You,” this was a charming duet performed with James Taylor, this song was not as big a hit as the previous but managed to make it to US #36 and Canada #50. The third single “Tranquillo (Melt My Heart),” written by Carly Simon, James Taylor and Arif Mardin, was a disco tinged rocker that failed to chart but made a great album track.

"You Belong To Me"

Highlights on the album include “De Bat (Fly In Me Face)” a calypso influenced reggae tune shows off Carly’s sense of humor along with backing vocals by James Taylor. “In A Small Moment” is a great predecessor to her work on her 1981 album “Torch.”

The album won a Grammy award for Best Album Package, which went to Tony Lane, and Johnny Lee, who designed the album cover and packaging.  The song “You Belong To Me” received a Grammy nomination for Best Female Pop Vocal Performance but lost to Anne Murray’s “You Needed Me.”


No comments:

Post a Comment